Language Assessment Research Conference (LARC) 2018


March 21 – 23, 2018

Iowa State University

Ames, Iowa


Validation research in language assessment:

Contributions from methods in applied linguistics

Iowa State University is pleased to announce that it will host the 2018 Language Assessment Research Conference (LARC). This conference will take place March 21-23, 2018, in Ames, Iowa. LARC is being held in an effort to fill the growing need for a language assessment conference that is accessible to researchers in North America.

LARC 2018 will provide a forum for concentrated discussion of applied linguistics methods used in validation studies for language assessments to support a range of claims about the validity of test score interpretations, uses, and consequences. Research methods in applied linguistics appear to be increasingly useful in language testing research because of the need to investigate new types of language tests for an expanded set of purposes delivered by ever-changing technologies. Some methods of interest in validation studies are response process analysis, such as eye-tracking, conversation analysis, corpus linguistics, discourse analysis, language-focused ethnography, critical inquiry into policy issues, differential item functioning, factor analysis, generalizability theory, Many-facet Rasch Measurement, and structural equation modeling.

Conference opening address: 

Carol A. Chapelle, Distinguished Professor
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Iowa State University

Plenary speakers

  1. Alister Cumming, Professor Emeritus
    University of Toronto, Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
  2. Dorry M. Kenyon, Vice President, Director of Assessment
    Center for Applied Linguistics
  3. Tim McNamara, Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor
    School of Languages and Linguistics, University of Melbourne
    President, American Association for Applied Linguistics





Important Dates

  • Abstracts due: September 15, 2017

  • Notifications of acceptance: Late October, 2017

  • Conference: March 21 – 23, 2018


 Conference organizing committee

  • Gary Ockey, Iowa State University (Co-Chair)
  • Carol Chapelle, Iowa State University (Co-Chair)
  • Liying Cheng, Queen’s University
  • Troy Cox, Brigham Young University
  • Jee Wha Dakin, ETS
  • Okim Kang, Northern Arizona University
  • Meg Malone, Georgetown University, ACTFL
  • Lia Plakans, University of Iowa
  • Masanori Suzuki, Pearson

Local Organizers (Iowa State University graduate students)

  • Rosalie (Roz) Hirch (Chair)
  • Nazlinur Gokturk
  • Hyunwoo Kim
  • Ananda Muhammad
  • Phuong Nguyen
  • Liberato Santos

Please contact us at if you have any questions.