AACL 2016

The American Association of Corpus Linguistics (AACL) 2016 Conference will be hosted at Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa on September 16-18, 2016. The conference will be held jointly with the 14th Annual Technology for Second Language Learning (TSLL) Conference organized at Iowa State.Faculty, graduate students, and independent scholars are invited to submit abstracts for 25-minute papers (20 minute presentation + 5 minutes for questions) on any aspect of corpus linguistics. Abstracts will undergo anonymous review.

Follow us on Twitter: @apling_iastate
Tweet about the conference and connect with other attendees by using the hashtag: #AACL2016 


Papers are welcome from a range of subfields in three categories:

1. Tools and methods (corpus creation, corpus annotation, tagging and parsing, visualization of large data sets, open source corpora (philosophy and practice), software development);
2. Linguistic analyses of corpora as they relate to language use (register/genre as well as lexical and grammatical variation, language varieties, parallel corpora, historical change, lexicography);
3. Application (the use of corpora in language teaching and learning).

The call for papers is now closed. Instructions for abstract submission are included in the full Call for Papers.

Download a PDF file of the full call for papers here


Plenary Speakers:

Jack Grieve (Aston University)
Ken Hyland (The University of Hong Kong)
Michaela Mahlberg (University of Birmingham)


Important Dates:

April 1, 2016 — Deadline for submission of abstracts
May 9, 2016 (updated) — Notification of decisions on abstracts
June 1, 2016 — Early registration opens
July 1, 2016 — Preliminary schedule posted
August 10, 2016 — Early registration ends
August 15-25, 2016 — Blocked hotel rooms at group rates expire (see Travel & Accommodations)
September 16-18, 2016 — Conference (Registration on site)


General AACL Information:

Previous conferences of the American Association of (Applied) Corpus Linguistics have been held at different universities in North America starting in 1999: Northern Arizona University (2014, 2006, 2000), San Diego State University (2013), Georgia State University (2011), University of Alberta, Canada (2009), Brigham Young University (2008), University of Michigan (1999, 2005), Montclair State (2004), IUPUI (2002), and University of Massachusetts-Boston (2001).